return to main site

Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Personal tools

Cooperative Ecosystem Studies Units

A national network of 17 Cooperative Ecosystem Studies Units (CESUs) provide research, technical assistance, and education to federal and state land management, environmental, and research agencies and their potential partners. Multiple federal and state agencies and colleges and universities are among the partners in the program. Ecosystem studies involve the biological, physical, social, and cultural sciences needed to address resource issues and interdisciplinary problem solving at multiple scales and in a landscape context.  For a list of CESUs within the Appalachian LCC see Appendix 4 of this document.

Portions of the LCC fall within the geographic area of six CESUs

  • Chesapeake Watershed
  • Great Lakes – Northern Forests
  • Great Rivers
  • Gulf Coast
  • North Atlantic Coast
  • Southern Appalachian Mountains