Return to Wildland Fire
Return to Northern Bobwhite site
Return to Working Lands for Wildlife site
Return to Working Lands for Wildlife site
Return to SE Firemap
Return to the Landscape Partnership Literature Gateway Website
return to main site

Skip to content. | Skip to navigation


Personal tools

You are here: Home / Cultural Resources / Heritage

National Heritage Areas in the Appalachian LCC

The Appalachian LCC region contains many National Heritage Areas (NHA) that reflect the rich natural, cultural, and historic resources within our landscape. In total, 18 designated areas stretching from Alabama to New York tell the stories of individuals, communities, progress, war, and perseverance that highlight the distinct culture, history, and lands of the Appalachians.

Map depicting all the National Heritage Areas within the Appalachian LCC boundary.

Abraham Lincoln NHA - a consortium of Illinois communities and sites that share the legacy of Abraham Lincoln.

Blue Ridge NHA - recognizing the unique character, culture, and natural beauty of the Blue Ridge Mountains and foothills in Western North Carolina.

Crossroads of the American Revolution NHA - connecting the people and places of New Jersey’s rich Revolutionary heritage to inspire community pride, stewardship and civic engagement.

Delaware and Lehigh National Heritage Corrdiorpassing through areas that house many of Pennsylvania's former anthracite mines, prosperous iron and steel industries, and the Delaward Valley where coal-laden canal boats traveled to Philadelphia and other markets.

Erie Canalway National Heritage Corridor - documenting the exceptional scenery, history, culture, and natural resources along the 524-mile waterway and the communities along its shores.

Hudson River Valley NHA - collaboration between residents, government agencies, non-profit groups and private partners to interpret, preserve and celebrate the nationally-significant cultural and natural resources of the Hudson River Valley.

Journey Through Hallowed Ground NHA - dedicated to raising awareness of the unparalleled American heritage in the region running from Gettysburg, PA., through Maryland and Harpers Ferry, W.VA., to Thomas Jefferson’s Monticello in Charlottesville, VA.

Lackawanna Valley NHA - dedicated to the development of the region’s historic, cultural, economic, and natural resources through preservation, education, and promotion of our heritage.

Muscle Shoals NHA - spanning the six counties of north Alabama's Tennessee River waterbasin to preserve the history of this region.

National Coal Heritage Area - winding through more than 187 rugged miles of scenic industrial heritage, where thousands of hard-working miners labored to produce the coal which created modern America.

Ohio and Erie National Heritage Canal Way - celebrating the first 110 miles of the canal that helped Ohio and our Nation grow.

Oil Region NHA - tells of the world’s first successful commercial oil well and a legacy of petroleum that continues to shape industry, society, and politics.

Rivers of Steel NHAcommitted to preserving, interpreting, and managing the historic, cultural, and natural resources related to the Big Steel region of southwestern Pennsylvania that encompasses over 5,000 square miles.

Schuylkill River NHA - with the 128-mile Schuylkill River as its spine, visitors can shadow the birth of our nation from the fabled landmarks of Philadelphia to the huts and hollows of Valley Forge.

Shenandoah Valley Battlefields National Historic District - ensuring future generations are able to explore the Valley's Civil War heritage and more fully understand the impact of the Civil War on the American experience.

South Carolina National Heritage Corridor - stretching 17 counties and 320 miles across South Carolina and promoting and preserving the cultural, natural and historic resources of South Carolina.

Tennessee Civil War NHA - tells the whole story of America's greatest challenge, 1860-1875: the powerful stories of vicious warfare, the demands of the homefront and occupation, the freedom of emancipation, and the enduring legacies of Reconstruction.

Wheeling NHA - preserves and celebrates the city’s dramatic setting, resources, and history, including its role as the birthplace of the state of West Virginia during the Civil War.